The Capitol of Brunch

Washington, D.C. 

Urbana – 2121 P St NW, Washington, DC 20037

Sweet Home Café – 1400 Constitution Ave NW, Washington, DC 20560

Hey Brunch Babes!

I apologize for the delay in getting this blog post out to you, but I promise I have some great content coming throughout the next week!

Work sent me to Washington DC for almost a week, and I just returned a little chubbier and barely sober.

Just a little fact about me – I LOVE D.C.!

It’s one of my favorite cities. In addition to the beautiful greenery and variety of free attractions throughout the city, they have some of the best and most diverse dining and night life options. Somehow they cram all of this entertainment into a 10 mile radius, and their metro system makes it so easy to experience all you’re wanting to explore in the city! *And that doesn’t even begin to include the culturally rich suburbs that surround the the political epicenter*

I’m sure you know the beautiful, classy, and bumbling city of D.C. is our nation’s capitol…but did you know the city was also the capitol of BRUNCH!?

If you go to D.C. and don’t have brunch…seriously, what are you doing with your life!? The Capitol City is known for its epic brunches and day parties. I’m convinced their restaurants have secret huge cellars of champagne because the bottomless mimosas flow at a majority of restaurants that offer weekend brunches.

Finding a brunch spot can be difficult in DC…not because it’s hard to find one, but because there are so many really good options. I try not to repeat when I visit, but it’s soooo hard.

This visit my girls and I took the advice of the front desk at our amazing hotel (The Embassy Row in Dupont Circle – I highly recommend) and tried Urbana, a modern Italian restaurant connected to The Palomar Hotel.

Urbana – (top right to bottom left) Fried Egg & Sage Sausage Panini, Jumbo Lump Crab Crostino, Lemon Ricatta Pancake , Another Jumbo Lump Crab Crostino

We FEASTED! I ordered the egg and sausage panini and the lemon ricata pancake (I can never turn one down). The sandwich had a homemade rich salsa that really made the dish something special. It was unique and flavorful.

The pancake…oh that pancake. It was PERFECT! It was fluffy and light and not too lemony. The fruit topping the pancake was fresh. Truly love at first bite.

urbana 2
Urbana – Lemon Ricatta Pancake

The other two girls were both mesmerized by their jumbo lump crab crostinos – creamy scrambled eggs with crab, mushroom and leeks topped and served with a light and delicious side salad.

All the dishes paired perfectly with our diverse portfolio of mimosa flavors! The restaurant gave us a bottle of champagne and three seasonal purees to choose from.

To say the least, we left feeling good, feeling great.

Savings: The restaurant offers TRUE bottomless mimosas for $19. Like I said above, they bring bottles of champagne (no limit on bottles) along with a flight of purees for your liking.

Service: The service was the only element lacking in our experience. It was slooooowwwww. Our waitress disappeared on multiple occasions. Luckily, we had the champagne to keep us occupied.  

Location: A few minutes walk from Dupont Circle. The restaurant doesn’t have its own parking. I would assume you have to use the Hotel Palomar’s parking, but again – if in D.C. take advantage of their metro system! The restaurant is an ~5-7 minute walk from the Dupont Circle station.

**BONUS FEATURE**

Now, onto the Sweet Home Café. This will be quick, I promise.

I just want everyone to know that the new breath taking Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture has a great cafeteria style restaurant inside!

This isn’t just any “café”. Sweet Home Café offers a variety of stations that serve iconic African American food staples separated by their regional origin.

  • The Agricultural South – Fried chicken, Hoppin’ John, etc.
  • The Creole Coast – Shrimp & Grits, Po’Boys, etc.
  • North States – Caribbean Food, East Coast Seafood, etc.
  • Western Range – Trout, BBQ, etc.

We visited on a Sunday, so there was also a brunch station (a sign from God, I suppose) that served chicken and waffles with mimosas. I was in heaven.

History + Brunch = HAPPIEST DEJA EVER!

They also offered a gorgeous layout of sweets

The café was a bit pricey, but I’d say it wasn’t overpriced for their quality offerings. Besides, the museum is free, so a $20-$25 meal isn’t too much to ask.

In general, you NEED to visit the museum. It was an emotional, thorough, and engaging experience. But I also recommend planning to enjoy lunch at the Sweet Home Café.

Sweet home cafe
Sweet Home Cafe – Chicken & Waffles

 

 

Leave a comment